Team Sunweb’s Coryn Rivera became the first American rider to win the OVO Energy Women’s Tour in June after wearing the Green Jersey for four of the race’s five days.

Whereas 2017 champion Kasia Niewiadoma used an audacious solo break on day one to win the 2017 race, Rivera’s perfectly executed strategy of claiming bonus seconds each day eventually saw her beat WaowDeals Pro Cycling duo Marianne Vos and recently-retired Dani Rowe to the overall victory.

Rivera analysed her victory at November’s Rouleur Classic in London, where she also won the Sharon Laws Rider of the Year Award.