The battle to succeed Dutch rider Demi Vollering as Women’s Tour champion could be decided as the race returns to the Welsh county of Carmarthenshire for the second time in three editions on stage five.

While riders will roll out from sea level at Pembrey Country Park, one of Wales’s top visitor attractions and host of the 2019 finale, the day’s finish line comes atop the Black Mountain near Llangadog.

It is the second hill-top finish in Women’s Tour history and one of the toughest routes measuring 7.2 kilometres in length, with the Black Mountain averaging a gradient of 5.3% and ramping up to 21% in places. The route was previously tackled during the final stage of the 2019 race when British rider Hannah Barnes (Uno-X Pro Cycling Team) climbed it the fastest in a time of 20:50.

The general classification took shape during Thursday’s thrilling fourth stage from Wrexham to Welshpool, with the top six only separated by 18 seconds. Should Grace Brown (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope) hold on to the race lead come Friday’s finish she’ll move one step closer to becoming the first Australian to win the Women’s Tour.

Stage map and profile

Total elevation: 2,056m

Timetable and key spectator information

Pembrey Country Park – 11am

Factory Road – 11:15am

Pontyates Hill (cat 1) – 11:45am

Crwbin (cat 1) – 11:58am

Nantgaredig – 12:26pm

Llangadog – 1:46pm

The Black Mountain (cat 1) – 2:08pm

Click here for the full stage timetable

Click here for our Carmarthenshire spectator guide

 Please note that parking is not available at the top of Black Mountain. Additionally, owing to the required road closures in place from 5am, fans attending this stage finish by car may be required to complete their journey to the summit by foot or bike 

TV schedule

Live coverage of stage five will be available on Eurosport Player and GCN + from 11:30pm.

Highlights of stage five will be shown on ITV4 at 8pm (then available on the ITV Hub for 30 days) and worldwide on Eurosport Player and GCN + from Saturday morning.

Leaders’ jerseys

The following riders will wear these leaders’ jerseys during stage five.

 Leaders’ jersey Grace Brown (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope)

 Breast Cancer Now points jersey Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM)

 SKODA Queen of the Mountains jersey Elise Chabbey (Canyon//SRAM Racing)

 Pillar sprints jersey Maike van der Duin (Le Col – Wahoo)