CANYON//SRAM Racing confirms their remaining squad for the OVO Energy Women’s Tour following the confirmation that 2015 Champion Lisa Brennauer would return to the race.

The team’s roster for the UCI Women’s WorldTour race will be led by British road champion Hannah Barnes, joined by, Trixi Worrack, Alena Amialiusik, Tiffany Cromwell and Italian road champion Elena Cecchini.

The opening stage in Daventry, Northamptonshire is the home region of Barnes. “I am really looking forward to racing on home roads and seeing familiar faces. It’s special to have the support, especially from family and friends that don’t get to see me race very often and see for themselves the excitement around the racing. This is a great race on the calendar to be at.

Hannah Barnes in last year’s Tour tackling Bank Road – Matlock


An ever-progressing tour, the women’s peloton will face some long stages over a variety of terrains with the finale near Piccadilly Circus in central London. Barnes, who won the final stage in 2015 from a bunch sprint knows the importance of maintaining form throughout the tour but believes she has prepared well.

Barnes believes her CANYON//SRAM Racing team will especially look forward to the longer stages. “All of the stages add a different dimension, but I believe with the team we are taking we can do well in the longer more rolling days. For me personally, I am confident to get over the QOM’s in a small group and follow it with a good result.”

2015 Race Champion Lisa Brennauer is confirmed to ride.


Already named on the provisional rider list for the OVO Energy Women’s Tour are the two other former champions of the UCI Women’s WorldTour event – Lizzie Deignan (Boels Dolmans) and Marianne Vos (WM3 Pro Cycling).

Other top names scheduled to be riding include Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle HIGH5), Dani King (Cylance Pro Cycling), Lucinda Brand (Team Sunweb) and Katie Archibald (Team WNT).

The full provisional rider line-up for the 2017 OVO Energy Women’s Tour will be published on Friday 2 June.

The OVO Energy Women’s Tour will begin in Northamptonshire on Wednesday June 7, with the opening stage between Daventry and Kettering and also include stages in Warwickshire and Derbyshire, finishing in central London on Sunday 11 June.  All 15 of the world’s top teams will be taking place, plus British squads Team WNT and Drops.

A one-hour highlights programme of every stage will be broadcast daily on ITV4 and Eurosport and available on demand via the ITV Hub and Eurosport Player. The OVO Energy Women’s Tour is a part of the UCI Women’s WorldTour, comprising 20 events around the world in 10 different countries.