The Women’s Tour, the most prestigious stage race on the international women’s calendar, has unveiled details of the six stages that will feature in the 2021 edition.

This year’s edition, which has been rescheduled for Monday 4 – Saturday 9 October owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, will feature the race’s first individual time trial stage, to be held in Warwickshire.

Seven of the host venues  – Bicester, Banbury, Colchester, Haverhill, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea and Walsall – are new to the Women’s Tour, while Felixstowe and Clacton return having last appeared in the 2014 and 2015 editions respectively.

Atherstone, the host of stage three’s individual time trial, will make further history in October when it hosts the race for a record fourth time.

2021 Women’s Tour stages

Grand Départ Bicester to Banbury, Oxfordshire Monday 4 October

Stage two Walsall Tuesday 5 October

Stage three Atherstone individual time trial Wednesday 6 October

Stage four Shoeburyness to Southend-on-Sea Thursday 7 October

Stage five Colchester to Clacton Friday 8 October

Stage six Haverhill to Felixstowe Saturday 9 October

About the Women’s Tour

The Women’s Tour isn’t just a cycle race: it is an event offering a major social agenda and the promotion of sporting participation and healthy living, focusing on young girls. The 2019 race generated over £7.5m value to the UK economy, attracted 300k roadside spectators and over two million TV viewers.

First held in 2014, the Women’s Tour has long been recognised as one of the UK’s most inspirational and game-changing annual events and has won several high-profile awards since its inaugural edition.

Ride for Heroes

The Women’s Tour and British Cycling have teamed up to launch Ride for Heroes which will celebrate Britain’s key workers and community heroes. Each stage start and finish venue will play host to a special ride out to allow spectators their chance to say thank you to the unsung heroes of the COVID-19 pandemic.